“Is Edosa around?”

 That was the first thing she said when she came to my room… If only we knew d future.

 She turned to go back when i told her he wasnt. My roommate had a knack for wondering off under the radar. Me and her later got better aquainted when i went on a “jobless” trip to her room to play scrable. We ranted on about all sorts of things, incoherent and irrelevant but still extremely engaging and enjoyable. Her two crazy friends made it all the more memorable. (Amen n Jenny, pls dont kill me, u arn’t crazy)

 Spats of Hey and Hi there… the occasional “i-follow-edosa-waka-well” lunch or dinner in her room…it was begining. A friendship, a true friendship.

Final year was when the grits really started to simmer. The jemimah saga, (God only knows how long that lasted) was larger grounds for her to officially become my shrink, as if i didnt need one earlier. The break-up had a nasty effect on me. But she was there, through it all. I still remember all the numerous “borrow dvd player” periods and the subsequent addiction to songs like chris tomlin’s no not one, and mary mary’s seatle.

Remember discussing sex with her and adesuwa. Remember the numerous MP seasons and how i’d form hardcore wen she was there but beg adesuwa to go stay with her in her room once she left cuz she was frustrated dat i seemed to not give a sh*t. Remember the outings, her dads remembrance, kada fries, mat-ice, dinner, gala night. Most of all, i remember my last three weeks together…

One event sticks out in those last three weeks. She had gone home cuz her mum needed her in delta state. The room was filled with all the usual culprits(Kaycee, Louis, Alex, Emma). I sat on the bed as i drowsily watched an epic match between alex and louis. I was tired but i needed to see this out, Inter versus Barca… it was actually a thrilling game, louis lost… i wanted that… silently… and i resigned into the welcoming arms of sleep. Something, however felt wrong, out of place. Couldnt place my hand on it. I said a prayer and slept off. I awoke at about past three and found the answer. She wasnt by my side. I just felt like she was suposed to be there. I couldnt go back to sleep so i deceived myself into doing my project and using that as an excuse for my “lack-of-her” induced insomnia. When she came back later in the evening that day, as i gave her a hug, i felt warm…nothing sexual, but something real. I loved her and i knew it. Not the butterflies in my stomach kind of love or writing our names in window panes while its raining, or any other crap hollywood has fooled us into beleiving is the true meaning of love, just the warmth of a companionship i couldnt do without, or did not want to…

I remember the last night together, when i actually felt married to her, and how i told onome i wanted to eat from the same plate with her at the risk of pissing of sarah. I dont use corny words like “soul-mate” but if i did thats what ruth was at that time. And it hurt i was gonna leave… still miss her…

She turns 18 on monday, while i turn 2x. (Yes we have the same birthday). I dont know what to say to her. Am gonna buy her a gift which she ll get whenever i get back to nigeria or probably in august when Chemi comes over for the holidays, but the gift is just a formality. If ,as i write this, i was asked to marry someone, it’d be her… without a second thought. The real gift is something to which i’m actually on the receiving end… her friendship…

Enough with all the 3rd person crap. Ruthie, My ruthie, I know uv started lookin at other boys since i graduated, its allowed, lol. But know this… I LOVE YOU. I MISS YOU. I CANT WAIT TO SEE YOU AGAIN. TO HUG YOU AND TO TELL YOU EVERYTHING THATS BEEN GOING ON IN MY LIFE SO FAR. Take care of urself for me. Stay with God, I taught you how important that is. Hear God. Am so happy you are joining Jesus army. You are an angel, its no washee. No man on this planet deserves you. You arnt perfect, but you are the most perfect piece of imperfection i’ve had the awesome pleasure of coming across…

My sweet Wuthie…

Happy Birthday (in advance)…

*singing- Wuthie is a fine baby… yes she is…*

*Nugwa’s thots… Okay, i agree this is too corny for a first blog post, gimme a break, i’m new at this. Just thought to tell my best friend how much she meant and still means to me even 9000 miles away… lemme know your thoughts on this one. And… i’m out!*

